Greek Pizza with Hummus

First of all, this is what I ate for breakfast:

You too can turn your squishy bananas and kinda brownish strawberries into big, moist, tasty muffins. I know I already told y’all about this recipe, but it’s just so good (minus the sage)! And if you substitute the sour cream for bananas, it’s healthy(ish)! I’m thinking of ways to make these healthier like decreasing the amount of sugar-the bananas add some sweetness, and using half whole wheat flour.

But, onto today’s post. First, please excuse me in the journey of learning how to photograph my food. It’s hard! And when you’re short on time, trying to make dinner in 30 minutes before your hungry husband gets home, even harder! I decided I need some photography lessons, so hopefully you’ll see some progress soon.

Greek pizza. What’s not to love? Ground turkey, crazy feta, homemade simple sauce, sauteed onions and red bell pepper. Add a side of hummus and I could eat this meal for days! And, to make things even better, I was filled with joy, surprise, delight, and pride when I watched my East Texas husband put a spoonful of hummus on his pizza! I’ve never doubted that I married the right man, but this act of food brilliance confirmed my heart even more. True love.

This is my favorite homemade hummus recipe:

Drain and rinse one can of chickpeas so as to get rid of all the canned juice and canned flavor.

Put chickpeas, 1/4 cup olive oil, 2 (or more!!!) cloves of garlic, 2 generous tablespoons of tahini, the juice of two lemons, sprinkles of salt, and some pepper in your food processor.

Pulse until the ingredients reach a smooth, creamy consistency. Add more salt and pepper if necessary.

Place in the refrigerator to allow flavors to combine. Yum. And way less expensive than buying it. Tahini is expensive when first buying it, but lasts a long time.

On to the Greek Pizza.

Here’s what you need:

Pizza crust–homemede is delicious but not when you have 30 minutes, thankfully there are great store bought crusts

Pizza sauce–my simple recipe is below

Crazy feta-my adapted recipe is below

1.25 lbs of ground turkey

1/2 of one red bell pepper, diced

1/2 of one sweet yellow onion, diced

garlic powder

olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:

First, do Step 1 for the crazy feta, see below. Then make the sauce so that flavors can combine well (recipe below).

Dice onion and red bell pepper on medium heat with 1 teaspoon of olive oil until they are soft and a little bit browned.

Sautee ground turkey with 1 tablespoon garlic powder and 2 teaspoons olive oil until cooked through-a medium greyish color. Salt and pepper to taste.

Crazy feta:

I made an adaptation of the original recipe, basically I just reduced the amount of feta cheese (because it’s a bit costly) and jalapenos.

1 8oz brick of feta

1 Jalapeno

1 bulb of garlic

Step 1. Cut off the top of the garlic bulb, place in a small sheet of foil, cover with some drops of olive oil, pop in the oven on 450 degrees for 30 minutes. Put the jalapeno in by itself for the same amount of time. Place these on your pizza stone or on a cookie sheet.

Step 2. Crumble the feta then add roasted garlic, chopped up roasted jalapeno, the juice and zest of the lemon, 2 tablespoons olive oil, salt and pepper to taste.

This would make a great dip with pita chips, but is also excellent as the pizza topping. I used all of it on the pizza, but most non-feta obsessed people probably wouldn’t.

Pizza sauce:

One 14oz can of diced tomotoes

1 garlic clove minced

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1 small can of tomato paste

1 1/2 Β teaspoon oregano

1 1/2 teaspoon basil

salt and pepper to taste

Combine all these ingredients with immersion blender (one of my favorite kitchen appliances) or in stand blender.

To assemble:

Top pizza crust with sauce, ground turkey, onion and pepper mixture, and crazy feta. Bake on 450 for about 10 minutes, until crust is brown.

Makes enough for four! Or two with leftovers.

Sadly my photo doesn’t do it justice, but, truly, so good. Especially with a dollop of hummus on each bite.

3 Comments on “Greek Pizza with Hummus”

  1. [...] we really enjoyed this Mexican pizza. Matthew and I have been on a pizza kick lately-check out my Greek pizza and my Summertime grilled chicken [...]

  2. […] but pack the same deep, nutty flavor. The leftovers are great stuffed into pita bread or covered in hummus. I hope you try this and enjoy it; afterwards make a cup of Nutella Hot Chocolate to keep you in […]

  3. […] Collard Green Falafel with Hummus from Minimalist Baker Don’t be afraid of collard greens. They are a great leafy green with a bit of a spicy bite similar to arugula. This is a fabulous vegan and gluten free falafel recipe, best served with lots of hummus. […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,567 other followers