Chocolate Peanut Butter Grandma Cookies

When I’m a grandma I want to be nice and soft and cushy. I won’t be one of the grandmas I see working out at the gym. No, thank you. I’ll be just flabby enough for my little grandkids to snuggle up next to me and think how good I smell and how soft I feel.

I might be well on my way to cushyness forty years too early if I keep making these chocolate cookies with peanut butter frosting. Thankfully, I have a husband who can eat five in one sitting and somehow his abs get even more toned. And thankfully, we’re helping our dear friends move tonight so I can share some of the chewy, creamy deliciousness with them.

My grandma, Nana, puts her chocolate chip cookies in the freezer so they’ll get kinda crispy. A few of mine are hiding away in the freezer, which will hopefully cause me to forget about them so I don’t keep eating them.

The chocolateyness of these cookies pairs perfectly with the creamy, smooth, cloud like peanut butter frosting. Seriously, the frosting is like taking a bite of a cloud.

I adapted the cookie recipe from Taste Junction. The frosting is my own.

Ingredients:

2 cups of flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

3/4 cup Dutch cocoa powder

2 cups sugar

2/3 cup milk

1 bar of chocolate (I randomly had a fancy bar of chocolate that had nuts in it, but Hershey’s will do great or chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix dry ingredients together, then add the wet ingredients, until combined smoothly. Roll into balls and place on baking sheet. Smoosh a square of chocolate into each cookie. A nice surprise in the middle!

Bake cookies at 350 for 10-12 minutes. Let the cookies cool for about twenty minutes then smear with frosting. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

For the frosting:

1/2 cup of peanut butter

1/2 cup of sugar

1/4 cup of crisco (don’t hate!)

2 tablespoons of vanilla creamer (any flavor creamer or half n half would be fine, a splash of milk would work too)

In your food processor or stand mixer, combine the ingredients for about 7 minutes on medium speed.

Note: My sugar was a little grainy in the frosting, but when put on the cookie, it didn’t make a difference. If anyone has anyone has sugar tips, I’d love them! I might use more peanut butter and powdered sugar instead of granulated sugar next time.

If you place one cookie on a pretty little plate, you might miraculously have the self control to eat just one.

2 Comments on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Grandma Cookies”

  1. kaseyjackson says:

    Love the blog Jillian! I promise I didn’t mean to pick the same theme! I’m in the process of finding a new one… πŸ˜‰

  2. Sarah Niemitz says:

    Jill…hard to believe you’re blogging about cooking IN MARRIAGE because I feel like we were just playing volleyball together and carpooling. I love the blog because i too have discovered a lot about marriage, myself, and Ben through cooking!! I love your recipes…I’ll have to make the chocolate peanut butter ones asap. Thanks for sharing your life; I NEVER check blogs, EVER and I started reading yours. That’s a compliment πŸ™‚

    love
    Sarah (Denton) Niemitz


Leave a Reply

