Weekend Bites

After overcoming the heat and seeking an air conditioned refuge, we were able to enjoy some yummy flavors, borrowing two recipes from other blogs I like and one of my own.

I highly recommend Pioneer Woman’s Asian Noodle Salad. However, take her advice and serve this up on a girl’s night or by yourself (if you are a woman). Because, as she warned, this isn’t really a man’s meal. I tried to manify it by adding grilled chicken, but to no avail. Matt’s exact quote was, “I’ve never really liked salad because it takes too much effort to eat.” Hmm…However, I ate this a few weekends ago with a girl friend and we loved it! That time I added some toasted almonds, which were perfect.

A win for the weekend were the wonderful Strawberry Banana Muffins inspired by this recipe. I omitted the sage altogether and instead of the sour cream, I used 1 cup of mashed bananas (about two bananas). I hate seeing fruit go to waste, so my over ripe strawberries and bananas, which couldn’t be eaten by themselves, were perfect in muffins. The avocado smasher achieved just the right smashedness for the bananas. These are best enjoyed with a slip of butter inside and a cup of coffee.

But, the best and tastiest bite of the weekend were roasted stuffed jalapenos. Oh my. Please make these right now!

So good that I almost gobbled them down before sharing with my husband AND so good that I wish I had 10 more jalapenos! Make these asap!

You need:

4 jalapenos (however, I recommend doubling or tripling this recipe!)

1 tablespoon seasoned bread crumbs

1 tablespoon parmesan cheese

4 cloves of garlic (don’t worry, it gets roasted and the flavor calms down)

1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped

a bit of olive oil

a bit of salt

foil

To make:

Preheat oven to 450. Using a paring knife, slice off the top of each jalapeno, and then carefully twist the knife inside the jalapeno, this quickly and easily removes the insides and seeds. But, be careful!

Mash all of the ingredients until they stick well together. Fill each jalapeno with stuffing.

Place each jalapeno on a little piece of foil. Add a few drops of olive oil. Sprinkle with a tiny bit of salt. If there is left over stuffing, just eat it by the spoon full OR put in the foil. Wrap up foil into little packets and put in preheated oven for 30 minutes. I put mine right on the pizza stone, but if you don’t have one, a cookie sheet will work just fine. Make sure to put it in for the preheating.

After thirty minutes, you will open the oven to the most delectable smell and promptly eat the roasted, salty, cheesy, garlicky jalapenos before your husband has even come down to dinner. Sadly, all I have is the following terribly blurry photo because my camera battery died just as I took the picture and I could not wait for the battery to charge before devouring these little guys. 

Leave a Reply

