Parmesan Polenta with Shrimp & Mushrooms

Today I accidentally cut a lady off in traffic. Note: accidentally. Anyways, I could see that this lady was MAD.  Major road rage, throwing hands up, disgusted expression-the whole shebang. So, as I drove past her, I got a glimpse of her face and realized I knew this girl! I wont’ say in what context so that her identity won’t be revealed. But this girl and I totally know each other. I really don’t think she saw me, but it made me laugh. A lot. And I think this girl would be totally embarrassed if she knew I saw her.

Anyways, polenta is delicious. And really cheap! I used to by the pre-packaged polenta (what was I thinking?!) that costs about $4.00, but I discovered that really the best option is to buy from the bulk section where the polenta costs less that fifty cents for a cup!

It looks so simple. And tastes so delicious! The consistency of polenta is similar to grits. If that doesn’t appeal to you, then I’d say it’s like mashed potatoes or even risotto. But my favorite things about polenta are its creaminess and the fact that you can flavor it however you like! Parmesan cheese and butter is my simple yet scrumptious flavor combo for this recipe. Can’t really go wrong with those two ingredients.

To accompany my polenta I sauteed some shrimp that were tossed around with a few seasonings.

And some mushrooms with just olive oil, salt, and pepper. In my opinion, they just don’t need much more than that!

All together this was a simple, filling meal with lots of yummy flavors. I hope you like it!

Recipe: 

Adapted from Gourmande in the Kitchen

Ingredients: 

1 cup ground polenta

2 cups plus 1 cup of water

2 cups of chicken broth (using water here is fine too)

2 tablespoons butter

1 cup parmesan cheese

1 lb shrimp, deveined and peeled

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

2 tablespoons garlic powder

1 tablespoon parsley

1 package of mushrooms, sliced

2 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper

To make: 

After peeling and deveining the shrimp, put it on a plate and sprinkle with chili powder, parsley, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Mix together and let it just hang out for a bit.

In a 2 quart pot, put cold water and chicken broth, add polenta. Turn on to a medium-high heat and stir until it comes to a simmer, continue stirring and bring to a boil. The polenta will begin to thicken, add a little more water if needed to achieve desired thickness. Lower heat to low and cover the pot, stirring every ten minutes for about 30 minutes until polenta is creamy. Add butter and parmesan cheese, mix to combine. Add salt and pepper to taste.

While the polenta is cooking, add 1 tablespoon of olive oil to a sauté pan and bring to medium heat. Add shrimp and cook, turning once for two minutes. Remove shrimp, place on a plate and cover with foil. Add one tablespoon olive oil to the same pan, add sliced mushrooms, sauté until soft and color darkens, about 3-5 minutes.

Add the shrimp back to the pan with the mushrooms. Serve on top of warm polenta.

 

One Comment on “Parmesan Polenta with Shrimp & Mushrooms”

  1. So glad you are enjoying making your own polenta now!


Leave a Reply

