Zesty Lime+Chipotle+Cilantro Vinaigrette

My mom always made homemade salad dressing. Her caesar dressing is absolutely delicious! She made it all the time when we were younger and when it was my job to make the caesar salad I added tons of dressing and tons of parmesan cheese with a little bit of lettuce. I’ve never been able to find a bottled dressing that tastes as good as homemade plus it is so much cheaper to make your own.

Ok, so on to the salad dressing for today. Guys, I really don’t think I’m exaggerating. This truly is the best salad dressing I’ve ever tasted. I discovered Lime-Cilantro Vinaigrette (is that really how you spell that word??) during the summer at a wonderful blog called Our Best Bites which has tons of great recipes. But don’t head over their quite yet as I want to show you a little spin I put on the dressing: I added a bit of chipotle in adobo sauce and OH MY GRACIOUS. Y’all, this is the tastiest salad dressing I’ve ever had! Zesty is the best word to describe it. Full of flavor but not rich or heavy. Tangy. Refreshing. Drinkable. Also it’s great as a chicken or vegetable marinade, a sauce for enchiladas, mixed with some black beans and guacamole, really anything. I even somewhat randomly poured it over a salad of spinach, roasted butternut squash and parmesan cheese. I could literally drink this stuff!

Just look at how lovely and green it is!

I recommend making this as soon as you can because it will add a zesty kick to whatever you choose to put it on.

Enjoy!

Lime+Cilantro+Chipotle Vinaigrette 

You need: 

1/4 cup fresh lime juice (about 2-3 juicy limes)

2 tablespoons cup white wine vinegar

4-5 cloves garlic

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons sugar

1 cup canola oil

1/2 cup roughly chopped cilantro, stems removed

1 chipotle pepper-seeds removed + 1 teaspoon adobo sauce (add seeds or another half chipotle for more heat)

To make: 

In the jar of your blender, combine the lime juice, vinegar, garlic, salt, sugar, and chipotle with adobo sauce. Blend on high until everything is combined. With the blender running, pour the oil in as a steady stream. Add cilantro and blend until the cilantro has broken down but it isn’t completely pureed–you want to see some of the texture of the cilantro leaves.
Serve over just plain greens, a salad, or use as a marinade for chicken, beef, or vegetables.
3 Comments on “Zesty Lime+Chipotle+Cilantro Vinaigrette”

  1. I can’t wait to try this! Three of my favourite flavours, all combined in one neat package…. and dip-able in bread. Could bliss be any closer?

    thank you!

  2. Courtney Binkley says:

    Holy Moly Jillian! I just made this and it is so tasty! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

