Quinoa, Red Pepper, & Corn Salad with Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

What a wonderful day. It’s currently raining outside and I’m drinking a big cup of coffee in my favorite pink mug from Anthropologie that my sister gave me for Christmas. I don’t work on Fridays (I’m a nanny), so today is my “get things done day.” Cleaning, which includes vacuuming, laundry, dusting, cleaning out the refrigerator, & possibly mopping; picking up all the clothes that have somehow gathered on my closet floor; running errands; possibly going for a jog; and my favorite: sharing recipes with you!

This quinoa salad is really really great. My sister introduced me to one of my very favorite cook books, Power Foods. I love it because it’s full of recipes that truly are good for you and made from 38 highly nutritious ingredients. But man, every single recipe I’ve made from here is FULL of flavor. This salad is no exception.

Do you know about quinoa? I hope so! First of all, it’s pronounced KEEN-wah. And secondly, this tiny little guy is a kind of seed, not a grain, so it’s gluten free and packed with tons of protein, fiber and other good-for-you vitamins. But, like I said before this isn’t one of those healthy-but-terrible-tasting recipes. It’s healthy alright, but the flavor is delicious. Don’t get me wrong, I like hamburgers and pepperoni pizza and even fried ice cream at the fair, but there is just something that feels so great about eating healthfully AND deliciously.

Oh and Matthew loves this salad! Win! I served it as a side for dinner with blackened tilapia which sounds fancy but is truly easy. (Tilapia filet+Tony’s Blackening Seasoning+non-stick pan with olive oil+sauteed 2-3 minutes on each side=divine).

Try this! You’ll love it!

Quinoa, Red Pepper, & Corn Salad with Toasted Pumpkin Seeds 

Slightly adapted from the cookbook: Power Foods

Serves 4-6 as a side dish (equally as delicious eaten the next day as leftovers)  

1/4 cup fresh lime or lemon juice (from 2 or 3 limes or lemons)

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon chili powder

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

salt to tasted

2 3/4 cups water

1 1/2 cups quinoa

1 1/2 cups frozen or fresh corn

1 red bell pepper, seeds & ribs removed, diced

3 green onions, thinly sliced

1 large jalapeno, diced (ribs & seeds removed for less heat, if desired)

1/4 cup coarsely chopped cilantro

1 ripe avocado

1/4 cup raw hulled pumpkin seeds, toasted

To make:

Whisk together lime or lemon juice, cumin, chili powder, garlic, oil, & 1/4 teaspoon salt.

Toast pumpkin seeds in either the toaster oven or under the broiler on low. Watch carefully so they don’t burn.

Bring the water to a boil in a small saucepan. Add quinoa, allow to boil then reduce heat to simmer. Cook for about 15 minutes until the quinoa has absorbed the water. Turn off heat and fluff quinoa with a fork.

Put quinoa in a large serving bowl and add corn, red pepper, green onions, jalapeno, cilantro, pumpkin seeds and the dressing. Add salt to taste.

Cut avocado into slices.

Pile quinoa on plates, add avocado if desired and serve!

7 Comments on “Quinoa, Red Pepper, & Corn Salad with Toasted Pumpkin Seeds”

  1. Abby says:

    That is definitely power food! I’ve only tried quinoa once but am always looking for recipes, so glad I found your blog. 🙂

  2. I love quinoa and I’m always looking for new ways to serve it. This one looks like it would be a favorite!

  3. […] recipe comes from one of my all time favorite cookbooks, Power Foods. I’ve shared the quinoa salad here before, it’s […]

  4. […] Quinoa Salad This is my all time favorite quinoa salad! To mix it up a little, I used a roasted poblano pepper (roast at 425 for 3o minutes, allow to cool, remove skin, chop) instead of the red pepper. I also added half a can of black beans for added protein. Delicious! […]


Leave a Reply

