Italian Sausage & Mushroom Pasta with Creamy Tomato Sauce

My three favorite things to share are clothes, books, and recipes.

In college I lived with six other girls, which meant my wardrobe was six times larger! Whenever any one of my roommates went shopping, she’d come home with a new shirt, jeans, or headband and say: “Look what I got for us!” And although I LOVE living with my wonderful husband, my wardrobe has suffered. Thankfully my sister lives with seven other girls and I frequently visit her house to steal borrow clothing.

And books, oh books. My dream is to have a weekly book club where each member arrives with some sort of delicacy to munch on while we discuss the book of the week and sip hot tea or coffee. Doesn’t that sound divine?

And of course, sharing recipes is my favorite. It is such a joy to be a young wife with some many other young wives in my circle of friends, all learning how to cook and take care of a house and be wifely.

I found a HILARIOUS list on my phone entitled “Things to buy/do for wifehood” from November 25, 2010, which was about a month after I got engaged. Here’s the list: “good tweezers, Listerine-zero, floss, wear retainer, Tae-B0 video, good razor, hair straightened, lotion, paint toenails regularly, run bear trail 2x a week, walk, do morning routine every day, collect recipes, Sally Hansen nail strengthener.” Well, I can pretty much say that the only thing I’ve done consistently in the eleven months I’ve been married is “collect recipes” and I certainly haven’t bought any Sally Hansen nail strengthener.

Anyways, my dear friend Lena, who is also a new wife, shared this pasta recipe with me and it’s great way to spice up your regular spaghetti! Hope you enjoy!

Italian Sausage & Mushroom Pasta with Creamy Tomato Sauce 

Serves 4 (or 2 with plenty of leftovers)

Ingredients:

Pasta of your choice-I used Whole Wheat Linguini-cooked according to package directions

1 28oz can of crushed tomatoes

1 can of tomato paste

1 package  (six links) of Italian sausage, I used sweet Italian Sausage

1 small carton of mushrooms, rinsed and chopped

2 tablespoons of half and half OR 1 tablespoon heavy cream

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 teaspoons dried basil OR handful of fresh basil roughly chopped

To make: 

Put one tablespoon of olive oil in a large pan over medium high heat. Add sausage links and begin to break them up with a metal spatula. Continue breaking up sausage and allow to cook for about 15 minutes until completely grey with no pink. While sausage is cooking, give mushrooms a rinse, getting all the dirt off then chop them to desired size. Add mushrooms after sausage is cooked through, and allow to cook for about 5 minutes until tender.

Add can of crushed tomatoes, can of tomato paste, minced garlic, and basil to the pan. Stir until sauce, meat, and mushrooms are well combined. Bring to a boil then quickly turn heat to low and allow to simmer for ten minutes.

While the sauce is simmering, cook pasta according to package directions. Drain pasta and add remaining olive oil to it’s pot, add pasta back in. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Add salt and pepper to taste to the sauce as well as half and half or cream. Stir together.

Put a heap of pasta on a plate and add sauce on top. I served this with a simple spinach salad on the side.

Enjoy!

8 Comments on “Italian Sausage & Mushroom Pasta with Creamy Tomato Sauce”

  1. Your post cracked me up! Before moving in with my boyfriend, I lived with two girls, one of whom was a shopaholic – those were the days of wearing a different (not-owned-by-me) outfit every day. Definitely helps with the ol’ budget! 😉 Your recipe looks delicious and it’s lunchtime here so my mouth is watering. Have a fun weekend!

  2. Lemon says:

    What a lovely pasta recipe.

  3. ohshineon says:

    Looks divine. I always love me some pasta and red sauce!

  4. I used to live in my roommate’s closet. It was awesome….now I only have my own clothes to choose from. Boring!! Recipe looks great!!


Leave a Reply

