{One Year Anniversary} Shrimp & Roasted Asparagus Risotto

On Monday, Matthew and I celebrated our one year wedding anniversary! I can hardly believe that we have been married for a whole year. This year of being married to my best friend has been a year full of joy.

We had a wonderful evening of celebrating: enjoying a delicious dinner, watching our wedding video and to our great delight our wedding cake tasted great! (Thanks mom for wrapping it up so expertly.)

One thing that I remember thinking on our wedding day is how absolutely crazy and absolutely miraculous it is that at one moment I was standing at the altar facing the man I love, but in that moment before the vows and rings and pronouncement and kiss, I was single, I had my maiden name; and then after the pastor said a few beautiful words and we promised each other rich and beautiful promises and placed on our fingers these lovely bands…voila! Married! One! Forever! I just couldn’t wrap my mind around the wonder of it.

And still it is such a wonder. A glorious miracle.

And yet, even after that moment I was still me and he was still him and here we are together. Maybe I thought that when the vows were said, the cake was cut, the garter was tossed, we would become older, wiser, more mature, more patient, more perfect people.

But we aren’t. And that is what I have learned this year. I’m not. I am just not perfect. Sometimes I’m quite impatient. Most of the time I can’t get the laundry done in less than four days. Usually I still struggle to be on time. And often my words come out too harsh, I overreact, and my tendencies leans towards selfishness.

But in the places that I am not, I am  learning that gloriously miraculous thing called grace. 

The gift of grace is free. This is a gift that when taken, is easier then to give. Because I am learning that life is a process, a journey, a struggle, and what I need each day is to breath in His grace so that I can extend a hand of grace to my husband, to my neighbor, to my friends, to the stranger.

And only, really only, when I allow myself to be filled to the brim with grace can I then take a step forward into the woman God has purposed me to be.

When grace fills me up, I spill grace onto and into the hearts of others.

And you know what, that really has nothing to do with risotto, but we all know that risotto is one of the most delicious foods in the whole world.

It is a bit time consuming, but don’t be intimidated! It’s not complicated and it’s flavor and creaminess are well worth the time commitment. We had a lovely risotto bar at our wedding which is why I made it to for our anniversary dinner. Make it for someone you love. It is truly divine.

Shrimp & Roasted Asparagus Risotto

adapted from allrecipes.com 

ingredients:

  • 6 cups chicken broth, divided
  • 4 teaspoons olive oil, divided
  • 1/2 pound shrimp, pealed & deveined
  • 1 bundle of asparagus
  • 2 shallots, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups Arborio rice
  • salt to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

to make:

Preheat oven to 425. Rinse asparagus and place on a large baking sheet, drizzle with two tablespoons olive oil, 1 teaspoon salt, and one teaspoon pepper. Roast in oven for 20-25 minutes. Allow to cool the cut into bite size pieces. Set aside.

Peal and devein shrimp. Sprinkle with a little bit of salt and pepper on both sides. Heat 1 teaspoon olive oil in pan over medium heat. Add shrimp and cook on both sides 1-2 minutes until pink. Allow shrimp to cool until easily touched, then cut into bite size pieces. Set aside.

In a saucepan, warm the broth over low heat. Add 1 tablespoon olive oil to skillet, and stir in the shallots. Cook 1 minute. Add rice, stirring to coat with oil, about 2 minutes. When the rice has taken on a pale, golden color, pour in 1/2 cup of broth, stirring constantly until the broth is fully absorbed. Add another 1/2 cup broth to the rice, and stir until the broth is absorbed. Continue adding broth 1/2 cup at a time, stirring continuously, until the liquid is absorbed and the rice is al dente, about 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in butter,  parmesan, asparagus, and shrimp. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!

2 Comments on “{One Year Anniversary} Shrimp & Roasted Asparagus Risotto”

  1. Diann Garnett says:

    The most beautiful lead to a recipe I’ve ever read!


Leave a Reply

