Eating with the Armstrongs

Remember that one time I told you that I was going to start posting what we eat for dinner every week? Well, it seems that I lied. I didn’t mean to. I promise I have good intentions. But good intentions without action leads to, well, nothing. But that is another story for another time.

So, my new commitment is that I will post what we eat for dinner regularly. Since regularly doesn’t have a definite time implied, I feel pretty good about promising it.

Lately, we have enjoyed the following:

Slow Cooked Homemade Meat Sauce

-a delicious recipe! I followed it almost exactly except that I wasn’t able to find fresh basil at the grocery store. I’m sure the basil would make the sauce even better, but without it, it’s still tasty tasty.

Honey Beer Bread

-hot out of the oven, this is the perfect side kick to soups, stews, or the above mentioned sauce. Any stout beer will do as the beer flavor cooks off.

Vegetarian Taco Salad

-this recipe is a win because even my husband didn’t miss the meat! I did not, however, venture into tofu world, because that isn’t really a thing we do. I highly recommend this if you are looking for a hearty, flavorful salad.

Chicken & Artichoke Lasagna

-um, hello. Why wouldn’t you make this? I added spinach for some extra green presence. Since I am a cheese lover, I added just a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese to the top before baking.

Pasta Fagoli

-in my opinion, this is the perfect wintertime dinner. I have at different times added shredded chicken or mini meatballs to this dish. I didn’t use Pancetta or Parmesan rind because I wanted to keep things simple, but I’m sure both would only enhance the flavor.

Chopped Chicken Salad

-Another hearty {husband friendly} salad. I marinated my boneless, skinless chicken breasts about an hour beforehand by drizzling with olive oil, sprinkling with Tony’s, and squeezing the juice of one lime over top then baked at 350 for about 45 minutes. Chop it up and throw it in! For the dressing, I just mixed up some olive oil, white wine vinegar, dijon mustard, garlic, salt, pepper and a teeny bit of bbq sauce-just adjust everything to taste. Any of your favorite salad dressings will do just fine as well.

Sometimes thinking up new recipes that are healthy, tasty, and inexpensive is a task, so I hope these give you some good ideas! I found all of these recipes on Pinterest, which is one of my main sources for dinner ideas. My tips for Pinterest recipes are as follows: if you are a beginner cook, try recipes with ingredients you are familiar with! Always taste as you cook, don’t be afraid to adjust seasonings adding a little more of this or that, I rarely, if ever, follow recipes to the T. Try things that are out of your comfort zone, that’s the best way to learn!

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoy!

One Comment on “Eating with the Armstrongs”

  1. […] In fact, the only dairy item is cheddar. A hot slice of honey beer bread is the perfect side, which I told you that we’ve been making a lot because it is SO quick, easy and absolutely […]


Leave a Reply

